Mutya Ng Pasig

Pasig is known for its Mutya ng Pasig (Muse of Pasig) folklore.

“On a night when the moon peeks from the heavens, when the gentle breeze tries to awaken her from her slumber. A vision of purity, her hair flows like a wave. She is the muse of Pasig, whose every gesture is song and poetry.

“I was once a princess in the kingdom of Love. When love died so did my kingdom. My strength has gone and now lives in your hearts. If you want me to live again, give me back my love!”

The Mutya ng Pasig folklore inspired kundiman composer Nicanor Abelardo to create the classical music poetry Mutya ng Pasig which tells about the sad fate of a woman who appears in the Pasig River during the full moon.

The song was written in 1926 and was inspired by the Kumintang, a traditional song from Batangas, a province in the Philippines, with Malayan rhythmic pat.

This song will forever live on the subconscious of Pasig elders on account of its haunting lyrics and melody and the effervescent romance that goes on between the city folk and the famous river.

More

WordPress To Blogger Migration

I find the WordPress blogging system way better and more user-friendly than Blogger, or otherwise known as Blogspot. But the free WordPress blog does not allow me to have Google Adsense.

Google AdSense is a program run by Google Inc. that allows publishers in the Google Network of content sites to serve automatic text, image, video, and rich media advertisements that are targeted to site content and audience. These adverts are administered, sorted, and maintained by Google, and they can generate revenue on either a per-click or per-impression basis. Adsense is a superb revenue generating opportunity for small, medium and large websites. The small earning that you would get from the added feature is worth the know-how and effort to migrate.

Because of this, I opted to transfer or export my blog from WordPress and then import it to the WordPress platform. Some of my friends would also want to import their blog from WordPress to Blogger. However, as of this post, there are no direct options available yet. You can not directly import or migrate a WordPress blog to Blogger.

I am thankful to my blogger friends who generously took the effort to teach me the indirect few steps method.

More

Crack, Suck, (Pluck That Duck Out And) Eat It!

I dare you to say it, then eat it too. 

Balut.

Pronounced as bah-loot.

This is how you say it: Put your lips gently pressed together at the beginning; your tongue flicking quickly up towards your palate, your lips moving as one in the shape of a narrow ooo, and ends with your tongue teasingly poking behind your teeth.

While many squeamishly shy away from eating this traditional Pinoy dish, most beer drinkers all over the Philippine republic love to devour this much-maligned Filipino delicacy as one of their “pulutan”.

Get ready to crack, suck, pluck that duck out and eat the balut!

More

Be Kind To Us THORs

Yes! I’m a victim as well!

I’ve also suffered from these THORrible memes that’s been somewhat spamming our Facebook news feeds.

I’ve seen those “THOR” memes flooding social networking sites and even Tumblr and Imgur. Humor sites like 9GAG and Memebase are already joining the bandwagon, and it seems the number is very rapidly increasing and going viral.

But I’m not amazed or amused. In fact, I have been ignoring them for the past weeks. I take only a few seconds to look at the memes but I just pass by them coz I’m not impressed. In fact, I’m infuriated because I do not find them funny at all. They are rather “corny”. The cornier, the funnier for some I suppose.

More

Of Logos and Winners

Congratulations to Jyppe A. Quidores, creator of Logo entry no. 9 for winning the FBW Logo design contest. He just won the following: one year domain, the property rights of the logo, Filipino Bloggers Worldwide featured blogger and $45.

He was my choice and 109 other people (the other 1 vote was from the logo designer himself) and won by just a difference of one vote.

My vote + Jyppe vote + 109 other people’s vote = 111 votes

Yes. A single vote was all that it took for Jyppe to win against the other leading logo design entry submitted by Ron Mia who got 110 votes. (1 vote from him and 109 votes from other people).

More